List Of Non Halal

List of Non Halal

Posted on September 8, 2007 by produkhalal

http://halalguide.org/List_of_Non_Halal.html

1) Alcohol
Alcohol is a colorless liquid, produced by the fermentation of sugar or starch, that is the intoxicating agent in fermented drinks and is used as a solvent. Also called ethanol and ethyl alcohol.

2) Animal Shortening
Shortening is a type of fat such as lard that is solid at room temperature, and is used for making pastry.

Vegetable shortening is halal.

3) Animal Fat
May be consumed if from Halal, Zabihah, animals.

4) Bacon
Meat from the back and sides of a hog that has been salted, dried, and often smoked.

5) Broth (from animals)
A liquid made by cooking vegetables, meat, seafood, or poultry in water for a long time, used as a base for soups and sauces.

6) Enzymes (Microbial Enzymes are okay)
A protein substance produced in living cells, that influences a chemical reaction within a plant or animal without being changed itself; an organic catalyst. Enzymes help break down food so that it can be digested. Pepsin is an enzyme.

7) Ethanol
Alcohol is a colorless liquid, produced by the fermentation of sugar or starch, that is the intoxicating agent in fermented drinks and is used as a solvent. Also called ethanol and ethyl alcohol.

8 ) Ethyl Alcohol
Alcohol is a colorless liquid, produced by the fermentation of sugar or starch, that is the intoxicating agent in fermented drinks and is used as a solvent. Also called ethanol and ethyl alcohol.

9) Gelatin
An odorless, tasteless, protein substance like glue or jelly, obtained by boiling the bones, hoofs, and other waste parts of animals. It dissolves easily in hot water and is used in making jellied salads and desserts, camera film, and glue.

10) Gin
A strong colorless alcoholic drink distilled from grain and flavored with juniper berries.

11) Ham
Meat cut from the thigh of the hind leg of a hog after curing by salting or smoking.

12) L-cysteine (if from human hair)
L-cysteine is an ingredient which is used in bakery products as a dough conditioner. It is often used in pizza crusts, pita breads and in bagels. It is made from human hair, chicken/duck feathers and synthetic materials. L-cysteine from human hair is Haram and must always be avoided. Synthetic and chicken/duck feather L-cysteine is Halal and may be consumed.

13) Lard
The fat of pigs or hogs, melted down and made clear. Lard is made especially of the internal fat of the abdomen and is used in cooking.

14) Lipase (Only animal lipase should be avoided)
An enzyme produced by the liver, pancreas, or stomach, or by plant seeds, that breaks down fats.

Animal lipase should be avoided.

15) Pepsin
An enzyme in the gastric juice of the stomach that helps to digest meat, eggs, cheese, and other proteins.

16) Rennet – All forms should be avoided except for plant/microbial/synthetic.
Substance containing rennin, obtained from the stomach of a calf or other ruminant, used for curdling milk in making cheese and junket.

17) Rum
An alcoholic liquor made from sugar cane or molasses. It can be clear but is usually colored brownish-red by storage in oak casks or by the addition of caramel.

18) Stock (from animals)
A liquid made by simmering meat, fish, bones, or vegetables with herbs in water, used in soups, stews, and sauces.

19) Wine
Alcohol fermented from grapes: an alcoholic drink made by fermenting the juice of grapes.

Alcohol fermented from other fruit: an alcoholic drink made by fermenting the juice of fruit other than grapes, or the juice of other plants.

20) Tallow
A hard fatty substance extracted from the fat of sheep and cattle.

21) Vanilla Extract/Flavour
A flavouring extract made from the vanilla bean and used in candy, ice cream, and perfumes.

The flavour extracted from vanilla beans is most commonly dissolved in alcohol. Documentation from a distributor of vanilla extract showed that the ingredient contained 50% alcohol.

22) Whey (Should be avoided unless the rennet used in its production is plant / microbial / synthetic.)
The watery part of milk that separates from the curd when milk sours and becomes coagulated, or when cheese is made.
Rennet is used to curd the milk. Whey should be avoided because the rennet used to curd the milk could be from a haram or non-Zabihah animal.

About FahmieSabri

Lecturer at Politeknik Merlimau Melaka, Tourism & Hospitality Department

Posted on August 5, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Lavina Hempton

    Cysteine is an amino acid, a building block of proteins that are used throughout the body. When taken as a supplement, it is usually in the form of N-acetyl-L-cysteine (NAC). The body makes this into cysteine and then into glutathione, a powerful antioxidant…

    Have a look at our personal blog as well
    <.http://www.foodsupplementcenter.com/chlorophyll-supplement/

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: